AnsweredAssumed Answered

Help: C++ app using VISA

Question asked by torete43 on Nov 2, 2008
Latest reply on Nov 5, 2008 by torete43
Hi! I need your help. First of all, congratulations for such a great forum and for the attention you provide to the final user.

I'm developing a C++ app using VISA in order to control some instruments over GPIB remotely. As a starting point, the app will capture the screen and transfer to the PC. If I succeed, I will add more capabilities to the app. I know there are some commercial solutions to do that, but It's a requirement from my company to have a propietary app. I have some questions cause it's my first time dealing with de VISA API. I would be grateful for some advice. Here we go:

1) VISA is supposed to be a standarized implementation, is there any difference between NI-VISA and Agilent VISA? I want to control some instruments from different vendors with just one VISA implementation, is this possible? Which one would you recommend?

2) Currently, I have both VISA's installed but I think Agilent's is working as primary. I'm using a PSA E4440A and following both NI-VISA and Agilent VISA documentation. If I try to reproduce some simple examples that comes with NI-VISA Docs over Agilent's library I get some errors from the compiler (MS VC++ 2005 Express Ed.). For example:

viWrite(instr, "*IDN?\n", 6, &retCount)

In this case I get the error: Parameter 2 cannot be converted from 'const char [7]' to 'ViBuf'. I guess that SCPI commands have to be declared as ViBuf and cannot be passed directly as an array of char (string), Am I right?. So my question is, Why all the examples in NI-VISA docs refered to viWrite or viRead are written this way? Is it possible to do this with NI-VISA library but not with Agilent's? Anyway, I'm using the formatted IO viPrintf and viScanf to sending SCPI commands, as shown in Agilent Docs. Even though, I would like to know where can I find info about data types defined in VISA.