AnsweredAssumed Answered

E4406A VSA key documentation?

Question asked by holtappl on Nov 17, 2010
Latest reply on Apr 7, 2012 by mrwindex
Hi all,

This is an interesting forum - and I ended up here after combing through pages of Google searches. I have a question about my newly aquired E4406E VSA.

I'm an RF engineer who 15 years ago made the regrettable decision to go into a commercial function, but the RF bug never really let go. So a while ago I picked up the thread again, and instantly rediscovered the old passion. GMSK was high-tech in the nineties (GSM usage was exploding..), and as everyone here surely knows, things have moved on a little by now. In order to get on with the times, I've read up and built a few low-power transmitters and receivers (usually for the 450MHz and 1.2GHz bands), and have gotten pi/4-DQPSK links to work just fine. DQPSK does not need carrier recovery, so until now things were fairly easy. However, trying to take the complexity up a notch, I hit the limits of my equipment. At the moment, I have a self-training QAM-64 link based on a DDS LO in the pipeline, and without knowing what is the quality of the modulated signal I'm putting out, thinking about a receiver is practially pointless. So, I saved up for a while, and picked up a E4406A VSA recently - unfortunately without GSM or WCDMA measurement personalities, or IQ baseband functions. The latter would have been very nice to have, but I'm happy nevertheless. Needless to say, I am blown away by the power of this magnificent equipment, considering that the price was not all that crazy. High for an individual, but if I had a company I'd feel I would get great value for money.

So here is the issue: trying to completely understand my tool, and to maximize the return on the family finances, I set out to download the manuals - only not to find the several potentially important ones. My focus is on the "Basic Mode", since I will not be using any cellular standard in my homebrew gear.