AnsweredAssumed Answered

New vs. Old IO Libraries Questions.

Question asked by TestCenterTech on Oct 22, 2019
Latest reply on Nov 1, 2019 by Tardz

As a technician, I am currently working with a variety of hardware that ranges from current issue, to 30+ year old legacy devices, and I have been working to modernize the desktop computers that manage much of the test equipment (in order to reintroduce them to the local network for data security purposes).

Many of the systems are running Windows XP, and are unsafe to put on the network, but the software that they are running is essential to perform many of the tests we are responsible for.

Some of the required software was built in-house, and has been proven to work on Windows 10, but depends on the SICL protocols provided by Agilent/Keysight IO libraries to communicate with the test equipment connected to the PC. The physical connection is made using a 82357A or 82357B USB-GPIB converters.

What I am finding, is that old versions of Agilent Libraries (15.1) will recognize my California Instruments CI5001I power supply but the latest (2019) version of Keysight Libraries will not. In the old versions, it shows the model, serial, and revision data in Connection Expert. In the new versions, everything is unknown. I CAN, however, open the interactive IO platform and get a response to the *IDN? command (as well as other device specific commands) on Win 10, so I know that the device is communicating to some extent. In fact, the software I am using is almost entirely dependent on those SCPI commands, which I can enter manually, but cannot send via software due to addressing problems with SICL.