AnsweredAssumed Answered

Sliding Load Performance Verification

Question asked by AVCM on May 22, 2012
Latest reply on Jul 25, 2012 by AVCM
I’m new to the forum, lots of good info here.

I work in a metrology lab and I am having the same issues regarding verification/calibration of sliding loads. I’m relatively new to metrology and currently I am trying to master the art of calibrating VNA mechanical calibration kits. I’d like to come up with a method of establishing some Pass/Fail criteria that would be somewhat simpler than the process suggested in the 85052B O&M manual requiring calibrating a system, performing a system verification, and then getting a printout of the residual errors after a calibration has been performed; or, using an airline, precision termination, and time domain gating to measure directivity directly.

I encounter a variety of sliding loads, predominantly HP 911C/D/E and Maury 8035’s in addition to sliding loads from the same manufacturers for N-Type, APC-7, and 2.4mm. I’ll focus on 3.5mm sliding loads as I suspect that whatever solution reveals itself (assuming there is a solution) will be applicable to the other connector style sliding loads. I’ve also noticed that Agilent (HP) used Maury 8035 series sliding loads in the early 85052A calibration kits. I’ve seen one 85052A kit with 911C loads. Most 85052B kits appear to use 911D/E sliding loads, although I have seen a few with Maury 8035 series sliding loads as well. Maury uses 8037 series sliding loads in their kits.

I’ve read Agilent AN 117-1 (great primer for folks like me who are just getting into this) as well as the _Sliding Load_, _Sliding load check_, _Sliding load calibration_, and _Sliding Load Verification_ threads here. The threads point out that the specs for sliding loads are different for each manufacturer, in particular Maury.

Agilent:
911C     (Reflection Coefficient)
Moveable Load Element: < 0.1, 2GHz to 10GHz